Communities and Justice

Mediator accreditation

The ADR Directorate can accredit mediators working in Community Justice Centres, courts, tribunals and other areas of the Department of Justice, under the National Mediator Accreditation System (NMAS).                

The NMAS started in 2008 and is a voluntary, industry-based scheme that accredits mediators to a national standard. It aims to:

  • enhance the quality of national mediation services
  • facilitate consumer education about these and other ADR services
  • build consumer confidence in ADR services
  • improve dispute resolution services
  • help build the capacity of the ADR field.

In July 2015, revisions to the NMAS took effect. The forms listed below have been updated to reflect these changes.

As a Recognised Mediator Accreditation Body (RMAB), the ADR Directorate provides national accreditation for suitably qualified and experienced mediators within the department. 

National accreditation standards and forms

Last updated:

28 May 2020

Was this content useful?
We will use your rating to help improve the site.
Please don't include personal or financial information here
Please don't include personal or financial information here
Top Return to top of page Top